Sat, 30 Nov | Sheffield City Hall

The CBSO on Tour | Sheffield

Jaume Santonja Espinós – Conductor / Oliver Janes – Clarinet Nikolaj Henriques – Bassoon / Beethoven: Egmont: Overture / R. Strauss: Duet Concertino for clarinet and bassoon / Falla: The Three Cornered Hat: Selection / Stravinsky: Petrushka [1947]
Se ha cerrado la posibilidad de registrarse
The CBSO on Tour | Sheffield

When & Where

30 Nov 2019, 19:00 GMT
Sheffield City Hall, Barker's Pool, Sheffield S1 2JA, UK


Richard Strauss's Duet-Concertino takes the listener on a journey reminiscent of Gabrielle-Suzanne de Villeneuve's classic and much-loved fairytale, 'Beauty and the Beast'. A beautiful princess (the clarinet) is frightened by a cavorting bear (the bassoon); when she finally dances with the bear, he is transformed into a prince. 

This concert also includes two seminal ballet scores adapted or specially written for the legendary choreographer Sergei Diaghilev, Falla's vibrant 'The Three Cornered Hat' and Stravinsky's bold 'Petrushka'

Link to the page